Tasmania defeated South Australia in the 2023 AFL National Inclusion Carnival division one Grand Final at Brighton Homes Arena on October 13, 2023. Picture: AFL Photos

TASMANIA has won the 2023 Toyota AFL National Inclusion Carnival division one title - its first ever – with a thrilling come-from-behind, four-point victory over reigning champions South Australia in the Grand Final in Brisbane on Friday.

The first three days of the carnival were played at Springfield Central Sports Complex before the final day moved to Brighton Homes Arena, the home of the Brisbane Lions. In hot, sunny Queensland conditions, the last match on the final day produced an exhilarating conclusion.

A Tasmania goal with about a minute to play, which came about after a 50m penalty, gave them the lead and they held on for 5.4 (34) to 4.6 (30) win in the decider.

Tassie's Joel Corbett was adjudged best afield in the win.

In division two, Victoria Country won the trophy with a commanding 9.4 (58) to 4.1 (25) victory over hosts Queensland in the Grand Final. It was Vic Country's first title in the carnival since winning division one in the first ever National Inclusion Carnival in 2014.

Vic Country defeated Queensland in the 2023 AFL National Inclusion Carnival division two Grand Final at Brighton Homes Arena on October 13, 2023. Picture: AFL Photos

Jarrod Redcliffe from Vic Country was handed best-on-ground honours.

The annual carnival for the most talented male footballers with an intellectual disability saw representative teams from eight States and Territories compete this week.

On the first two days, all eight sides played each other once in a round-robin format before teams were split into two groups comprising four teams each – division one (Tasmania, South Australia, Western Australia, Victoria Metro) and division two (Queensland, Victoria Country, Northern Territory, New South Wales).

Full results and ladders from the carnival can be found here.

History of National Inclusion Carnival winners:


Host city

Div 1 Winner

Div 2 Winner


Melbourne, VIC

Vic Country



Melbourne, VIC

Vic Metro



Melbourne, VIC

Vic Metro



Gold Coast, Qld

Vic Metro

South Australia


Launceston, Tas

Vic Metro

Western Australia


Blacktown, NSW

Northern Territory


2020 & 2021

Not held




Angaston, SA

South Australia



Ipswich, Qld


Vic Country


Next on the AFL's Diversity and Inclusion calendar is the 2023 Toyota National Wheelchair Championships, set to take place from November 1-5 at the State Netball & Hockey Centre in Melbourne, Victoria.